Rude Customers, Rude Awakening:


Having worked in a customer service setting for many years, I have become the girl who notices everything a person does “wrong” while shopping. I also tend to fix clothing in other stores because I have been conditioned to fix everything I come in contact with.

I’m not saying the customers at my store do this, but these are a few general annoyances I have witnessed throughout my travels.

  • You’re a customer. You’re at the register. You’re on your cell phone. The cashier asks you a simple question to help YOU save money. What do  you do? You make a snide remark and apologize to the person on the phone. THE PERSON ON THE PHONE. No. No no no no. That is rude.
  • You’re a customer. You’re at the register. You’re on your cell phone. Your cell phone is on speaker-phone. I’m sorry, I did not want to hear about the rash your partner has in between his…. that is rude.
  • You’re a customer. You are walking around smacking your gum. Not chewing: smacking. There is gum-chewing etiquette; and it should be on your list of things to learn. That is rude.
  • You’re a customer. I just folded a perfect pile of 24 shirts. You also watched me do so, and are continuing to watch me fold. I ask if you need any assistance getting a size. “Nah, I’m good,” you say, as you toss my entire pile around to retrieve the XL at the bottom of the pile. That is SO rude.
  • You’re a customer. You bring your little child into the store and let him/her run around touching everything in sight. You are not doing a very good job of parenting. The workers are not getting paid to babysit… or call 911 after your child runs into a wall because no one is looking. That is rude.
  • You’re a customer. You are rude to me and expect me to be rude right back. Instead I am extra bubbly and SUPER friendly! I even add punctuation to my statements to add excitement! You are still being rude! That is rude!
  • You’re a customer. You throw jeans in my face and the button gives me a fat lip. That is rude.

Just BE nice! Just because you don’t work in retail, doesn’t mean the retail workers are your slaves. Without them, you wouldn’t be shopping. Put a smile on and stop being such miserable human beings. And don’t give me anymore fat lips.

About girlwithoutadream

Just a 20something making mistakes through every chapter of life. Mistakes are what bring us lessons, though, and taking chances are what bring us success. I'll find it someday.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rude Customers, Rude Awakening:

  1. “You throw jeans in my face and the button gives me a fat lip.” That really happened??? Ican see it, but still hard to imagine. Owned a coffee shop once, same crap.

  2. I suppose that IS rude. I won’t do it any more. Search for the XL I mean. I always thought more work for shop assistants was a good thing, because then they’d need to employ more. Evidently not.

    • Hahaha, I don’t mind if someone neatly looks for it, but when they know I am asking so they don’t mess up the pile, and we close in 10 minutes, I get 90’s grunge girl angry.

  3. planettwentytwo says:

    SO rude.. how do you keep cool and not flip out at the customers? I admire your tolerance to rudeness! 🙂

    • I kill ’em with kindness. It makes them even angrier. Sometimes I get snippy with them, though.. I can’t help it, it’s second nature.

      • planettwentytwo says:

        I guess it’s a case of not stooping to their level of rudeness. I try to kill with kindness but veins popping out of my head usually gives me away. I wouldn’t last 5 minutes in retail. lol

  4. Sarah says:

    i concur.

  5. Sharp says:

    alright, I’ll behave 😦

Leave a Reply

