It’s the Little Things in Life….


Money doesn’t buy happiness, that’s what they all say (Who is “they,” by the way? What gives “them” the right to decide?). Money might not buy joy, but it sure does help. Not having the money to buy what you need (or want) to survive when you have been so accustomed to buying Starbucks for 8 years is pretty difficult.

I do, however, have many “little things” that can at least give me some joy on a day-to-day basis. Here is a quick list. (I will add more as I think of them… or as they begin to happen):

  1. Sharing Starbursts and realizing the other person doesn’t like the pink ones, which means you get ALL of them
  2. Seeing someone you haven’t seen since High School, yet feeling as if nothing has changed between the friendship
  3. Babysoft toilet paper
  4. Receiving a heartfelt compliment
  5. Falling asleep to the sound of the rain and realizing you can sleep in the next day
  6. Getting something accomplished that I have been procrastinating for days/weeks/months
  7. Phonecalls from my mother, whom I love more than anything in the world
  8. Mashed potatoes
  9. Showering after a nice workout (because I ate so many mashed potatoes)
  10. Even though it is raining, the windshield wipers synchronize with the music for at least a few 8-counts
  11. The feeling in your stomach when someone gives you butterflies
  12. Breathing in your loved one’s cologne or perfume and knowing they are next to you
  13. Meeting genuinely nice people
  14. Finding an old picture that floods the body with happy memories
  15. When you single-handedly stop a baby from crying just by smiling at him/her

I’m sure I have plenty of “little things” to add, but that’s what is making me happy for now!

About girlwithoutadream

Just a 20something making mistakes through every chapter of life. Mistakes are what bring us lessons, though, and taking chances are what bring us success. I'll find it someday.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s the Little Things in Life….

  1. that’s such a good list! When I hear some songs, that makes me happy – ones with whistling in them, usually, or boppy beats.

Leave a Reply

