My New Full-time Job: Applying for Full-time Jobs


Well, applying for work is about as much fun as sitting on a New York City bus with smelly hairy women who are against showering and still worried about the “no bra” movement. I have gotten pretty used to rejection letters, seeing as I am applying to jobs way outside of my field, with no real direction in which location I should be sticking with.

North Carolina, Las Vegas, Texas, and Boston. These are all places I have applied for jobs. Mostly, I am looking into Human Resources, but I have been open to just about anything (that doesn’t require taking my clothes off for money).

Is it too much to just ask for something to fall in my lap? I feel like I’ve been patient and optimistic enough for the past 2 years. I am a smart girl with motivation and a creative mind, yet I’m not able to put any of that to use. How is it, that I am not limiting myself to anything, yet I still can’t seem to land a good deal? This, to put it kindly, simply sucks. I’m losing all hope here.

About girlwithoutadream

Just a 20something making mistakes through every chapter of life. Mistakes are what bring us lessons, though, and taking chances are what bring us success. I'll find it someday.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My New Full-time Job: Applying for Full-time Jobs

  1. You know, girl, I feel you. I’ve been reconsidering my work options lately, I’m not exactly limiting myself but I’m not sure where I’m headed. Keep trying, some day somewhere you’ll get it right. I haven’t given up hope yet, hope you won’t too. God bless.

  2. djviga says:

    I am in the exact same place! I think it’s a rough time for everyone right now, I work two jobs, but neither is what I went to school for. You just have to keep grinding and we’ll get there when the time is right. Keep applying and let me know if you find something. We’ll all rush the door before it slams shut! Lol.

  3. I’m not there at this point in my life, thank goodness, but I sure have been there. And, well, it was just terrible. Looking for work is exhausting and demoralizing and soul sucking.

    But you’ll pull it off. I have no idea as to when you’ll pull it off, of course, but you will. You are open to try most any job (which is half the battle) and you’re willing to relocate (which is a decent chunk of the second half).

    Give it time. I’m rootin’ for you.

    • Thanks so much for your optimism (since I seem to be running low, haha). I appreciate your kind words! Hopefully I’ll find a job soon enough… and if not, at least I won’t be homeless. I guess I can’t ask for much more than that.

Leave a Reply

